Page 1 of 1[1]

succulent fertilizer

Most Active Topic:
Most Recent Topic:
Member Message
jojoe photos
Posted: Aug/01/2012 10:08 AM PST

Hello everyone,

I am new to the forum and have a question.I was told that a good fertilizer for succulents is african violet fertilizer.

I would appreciate anyone's thoughts on this or even advice & opinions on what you use to fertilize your succulents.

I am new to succulent real new i have been growing succulents for about 2 or 3 weeks.Most of the things I've done in that time has been what i was told by other people who know what they're talking about.

Thank you for any help i can get!!!!
Betts blog photos
Posted: Aug/01/2012 11:30 AM PST

Welcome!!

I read in one of my books..that cactus and succulents like their plant food a little on the acidic side

So, I fed them with a diluted tomato plant food and they were right! I now take our leftover 'black' coffee and dilute that in our watering can and water them with it when they need water.

Both do not like wet feet or moist soil...it is better to let them dry out before watering. I don't put saucers under them, just water slowly so it soaks in nicely. Being retired, I enjoy taking my time watering our potted plants.

OH, succulents like bright light but not as much as cactus...now, all this depends whether it's in ground or potted...indoors or outdoors. Look at your areas with good light...our sun here is intense so a lot of our succulents get only 5 hrs of sun, outdoors. The leaves of a succulent will burn if it gets too much sun, just like us

Wishing you well (^_~)
witt blog photos
Posted: Aug/01/2012 12:34 PM PST

Well, shoot! I didn't know that. I'll have to try that diluted black coffee with my succulents. All of mine are outdoors and in the ground or pots.

1kiwi blog photos
Posted: Aug/01/2012 1:41 PM PST

I didn't know that either!..Thanks Betts!..
mudpies blog photos
Posted: Aug/01/2012 4:11 PM PST