Page 1 of 1[1]

I got started on my garden today. New to this and very excited!!!

Most Active Topic:
Most Recent Topic:
Member Message
Irewynn photos
Posted: Feb/18/2012 7:29 PM PST

Hey everyone,

I'm a newbie to gardening, just started last year.

I had 3 goals for the weekend. 1) start my cobalt blue memorial garden 2) plant the cabbage, garlic, English peas and collards and lastly because I was unexpectedly blessed with them 3) plant the 3 little pots of root bound herbs I was given.

I have 3 days off this weekend, but today was supposed to rain all day. When I got up this morning, I checked the weather 1st thing, saw the rain was a good 4-5 hours off and so I managed to get the bottle garden started, plant the herbs and the English peas!!

I love my memorial garden already. I had a beloved pet to die a year ago this month and I wanted to do something to honor him. It will fit right in with the shabby chic look of the rest of my gardens.

I can't wait until the cinder block garden is fully planted. I put all the cilantro (and the 2 little pots divided up into 12 small plants) into the upturned holes of some of the cinder block that border one of the beds. I used on old spring from a baby bed, leaned it against one of the landscape timbers we are using as a fencepost, for my English pea trellis. As the peas leaf out I will be able to grow a few heads of leaf lettuce in their shade.

Hopefully in the next 2 days it will stop raining long enough for me to dash out there and finish planting!!!

Attachments:

Betts blog photos
Posted: Feb/18/2012 10:36 PM PST

Wow! I think you got a good start on your garden...could you send some of that rain our way, lol.

What is your zone? Looks like you may be ahead of the game starting so early.

Welcome to G.G.
Irewynn photos
Posted: Feb/19/2012 1:32 AM PST

I'm in zone 7b. We had a freak weather front come through last weekend and we had three days when it went below the 25 degree mark.