Page 1 of 1[1]

how do I make my pickled peppers crispy?

Most Active Topic:
Most Recent Topic:
Member Message
shawnstavish
Posted: Sep/04/2009 4:50 AM PST

This is my first time pickling. I've tried pickling banana and jalapenos pepper and they both came out mushy. How do I make crisp like you find on a salad bar? I first made the brine and poured it over the peppers, then sealed the jars and then boiled them for 20 minutes like the recipe i used called for.

Thank you,
shawn
Canned_Nerd photos
Posted: Sep/04/2009 11:14 AM PST

You can add a small amount of Calcium Chloride (formerly known as "Pickle Crisp") to each jar and you can also keep the peppers on ice for a couple hours before they go into the jars. Both methods help to hold the cell structure together during the heating process.

I doubt if your salad bar place is dealing with a canned variety, but rather a refrigerated version. Just like pickles, refrigerated varieties are much crisper than cooked/canned varieties.

Food grade Calcium Chloride can be ordered online from such places as bulkfoods.com or locally if you search. It is used for a lot of different things so just make sure you are getting a food-grade variety. Information on the bulk foods website can also give you information on how much to add to each size jar.
shawnstavish
Posted: Sep/06/2009 3:53 PM PST

Thank you and how do you do a refrigated verison.

And thanks again.
Canned_Nerd photos
Posted: Sep/06/2009 8:36 PM PST

You might pick up a copy of the Ball Complete Book of Home Preserving which has some refrigerator pickle recipes. There are also recipes on the Internet and in other published pickling books, if you are inclined to try.