• All
  • Articles
  • Videos
  • Plants
Bookmark and Share

Page 1 of 1[1]

What Do You Call A Flowering Plant That Does Not Die In Winter?

Most Active Topic:
Most Recent Topic:
Member Message
Halime65 photos
Posted: May/21/2009 6:39 PM PST

Hi Everyone!

I know we have annuals and perennials, but there has to be a category for plants that do not die in winter and flower all year round more than one time?

I am just beginning gardening so if this sounds silly please forgive me.

I know about "evergreens" but I am specifically talking about small flowering plants that I have seen planted here in the winter time with flowers still?

I live in Zone 8B and we don't get snow (maybe every 10-15 years)but we do get morning frost and days in the 40's. I have seen some small plants with flowers SURVIVE an evening of frost and still had blooms planted around the neighborhood.

What do they call them if they are not annuals or perennials ????

Please help my confused mind!

Thanks,
Halime
carolyncat353 blog photos
Posted: May/21/2009 7:29 PM PST

I would just call them perennials. A lot of plants that are considered annuals further north of 8B are perennials in our area. Sometimes, we don't even know it. In mild winters, if planted with protection, annuals survive all year. Probably what you see are hardy annuals, or just perennials. ( do I make any sense?)
Halime65 photos
Posted: May/22/2009 5:35 AM PST

Yes, you make sense~!
Thanks Carolyn
junglemn photos
Posted: Nov/09/2010 1:10 PM PST