Page 1 of 1[1]

My rosy glow barberry is dying fromt the bottom up!

Most Active Topic:
Most Recent Topic:
Member Message
Natlee
Posted: Jul/29/2008 6:30 PM PST

Ok, so I am new at gardening but I am trying. I recently started new beds in my newly constructed home from nothing. I added 2 rosy glow barberry shrubs. One was half way dead 1 1/2 days after planting so I took it back to the nursery and they replaced it but she said it needed more watering...I say whatever, the root was nicely damp and I know I watered it well...when I planted it, later that evening, the next morning and then boom its half dead...so now my other original barberry is not far behind. What am I doing wrong, how do I save them? Please help!

Ok so I guess I live in zone 5. Also I seem to notice that only the green "new growth" of my braberry seems to be suffering. I planted 8 other shrubs at the same time as the barberry and they get the same care but only barberry seems to be struggling. Is it going to completely die? Will it come back? I spent so much money and now I am so upset! I did everything I thought I should. I dug wide, put in Scott premium topsoil due to my rocky clay enviroment and then watered at planting and then in the evening and morning daily. They are in full sun, with the exception of minimal morning shade. I am so overwhelmed and just hope they survive! Thanks for any and all help!!!
Aurora blog photos
Posted: Jul/29/2008 6:52 PM PST

Welcome to GG- the place with answers to practically any gardening question and wonderful people
Ahhh- new construction!
I bet I know one major problem- your "soil" is nothing but clay from the fill developers use. The developer in my neighborhood is the same- they remove all of the good soil and then replace with clay.
The other major problem is the time of year. Mid summer is not a good time to be planting plants, especially shrubs and trees (we all do it anyhow though )

OK, Now for solutions