Page 1 of 2[12 Last

pruning lilac, coffee grounds and slight bragging on new beds! LOL

Most Active Topic:
Most Recent Topic:
Member Message
jpoo67 photos
Posted: May/26/2008 11:38 AM PST

Hi.

Among a bunch of other things...I just put in my first lilac (dark purple flowers). It is already a good sized shrub (about 4 1/2 - 5') and currently has flowers on it (was blooming when we bought it). When do I prune it so that it will leaf out more? It has a lot of lower branches that are bare. And if I cut those back...will leaves grow this season? And what does it bloom on...old or new growth? Sorry...one more question (can you tell that I am a novice? LOL)...someone told me that lilacs like coffee grounds. Is that true and how much should I give it and how often? I assume that the grounds should be used...LOL.

Thank you!

ps: if I can brag...I just put in my first beds and planted 6 white flowering azaleas, 5 pygmy crimson barberry, a large holly (and a smaller one for fertilizing), the lilac, a bunch of russian sage, moonbeam coreopsis, myrtle, red astilbe, and other annuals and potted geraniums!! I have to finish one section of the front bed and will add 3 more boxwood (to the 3 already there) and some smaller shrubs and we will have a landscaped front! Yeah!

Okay...bragging over! LOL...I can't believe that I could still move after all of that...taking up the grass was the hardest part!
karslinky blog photos
Posted: May/26/2008 11:46 AM PST