Page 1 of 3[123 Last

very persistent black spot

Most Active Topic:
Most Recent Topic:
Member Message
mdeedeecole blog
Posted: Jul/24/2007 10:19 AM PST

I have had a terrible black spot problem this year on almost all my roses. I diligently cut off the affected leaves and dispose of them in the trash. They get lots of sun and have good circulation. Doe black spot stay in the stem? All my new leaves seem to be affected right away when they sprout out.
Thanks!
DeeDee
poeticpeony blog photos
Posted: Jul/24/2007 3:13 PM PST

OMG! You're from Lytle Creek??? We used to go 4-wheeling and target shooting up that way back in the mid-80's.

Anyways, about your roses. I've had black spot on mine before and was told I'd have to do away with the palnts. I've never done that. I've cut back damaged stems before and disposed of them. I'm not a rose novice pretty much so someone else may be able to help more. Or scan down the thread and see if there's a similar title.

Welcome to the forum.
wan2hav blog photos
Posted: Jul/24/2007 4:05 PM PST

Several variation of roses are known to have Black Spot and other mold/fungus problems.....I see this on my English Roses. I used to fret over this for several seasons..and tried many things to erradicate it. I is ner impossible to do.

What I do know to most enjoy my beautiful roses...is to spray my roses throughout the complete summer season....I use a product called Rose Pride. I mix my oun solution into quart bottles..that are able to mist my complete rose in several burst. This stops the Black Spot and other problems --you may get a contaminated leave now and then--which you can treat as you currently are by removing it and throwing it away.