Page 1 of 2[12 Last

Herbs.. What are the most common and most used?

Most Active Topic:
Most Recent Topic:
Member Message
PeppermintQueen photos
Posted: Jul/20/2007 3:39 PM PST

Hello!

I'm new to gardening, I have a twelve by twelve foot garden (My first real garden) I am working very hard on. I also have a few different herbs growing, but would like to know which herbs are the most beneficial and aren't hard to prepare for teas, medicinal purposes, and that are just good for food.

I'll be moving to Turkey in less than two months though, so I'll get to start a whole new garden and hopefully find more useful herbs to grow along with my veggies and fruits.

What are your favorite herbs and how to you use them and prepare them?

My garden is getting a bit cramped as you can see... I didn't realize just how gigantic Brussel Sprouts get!! Any tips for my next garden?

Attachments:

AngelsGarden blog photos
Posted: Jul/20/2007 3:56 PM PST

The favorites in my garden are Rosemary, Chives, Thyme, Sage and Basil. I don't use any for teas. I use the Rosemary, Sage and Thyme in poultry dishes mainly, though sometimes the Rosemary will end up in a beef dish as well. So far the Chives have just been on baked potatoes. The Basil is the purple kind, I haven't used it too much in cooking, but it is very pretty.
mbvirtue blog photos
Posted: Jul/20/2007 5:00 PM PST

Wow, Peppermint, your garden looks so...green! (Major drought going on in WI, lotsa crispy brown grass, I'd forgotten what it's s'posed to look like ) By the way, welcome to GG if you've not been formally introduced. I've had my garden for three springs now, and I still plant way too much stuff, and don't have the heart to weed/thin it out. Yours looks very organized compared to mine!