Page 1 of 4[123 Last

Mountain Dew Jelly

Most Active Topic:
Most Recent Topic:
Member Message
von219
Posted: Sep/12/2006 2:08 AM PST

Has anyone on here ever made this type of jelly? I know it's not real fruit but if it is good why not? Here is the recipe but I don't understand how much Sure Jell to use - is it saying you use a whole box of Sure Jell for just 3-1/2 cp of Mountain Dew? That sounds like a lot of Sure Jell. (I'm new at this!)

================================================== ======

Mountain Dew Jelly

Category: Appetizers & Snacks

Description:
Sounds weird, huh? A friend sent this to me. Now I have to try it!

Ingredients:
3 1/4 cups Mountain Dew
2 tablespoons lemon juice
4 1/2 cups granulated sugar
1 package Sure Jell pectin

Directions:
Pour the Mountain Dew and lemon juice into a 6- to 8-quart pot. Bring to a boil and allow to boil for 3 minutes. Let it cool slightly, then follow the Sure Jell directions. Process for 10 minutes in a boiling water bath.

NOTE: You can use more Mountain Dew and reduce it to 3 1/4 cups for a more concentrated flavor.
GrandmaSage
Posted: Sep/12/2006 2:46 AM PST

I hope someone knows the answer too! Although I've never made jelly, this might make a great addition to my holiday baskets. I was just looking at bread recipes. :broccoli:
RandyCobb
Posted: Sep/12/2006 3:58 AM PST

I made some chardonay wine jelly a couple of years ago, but I checked my canning folder and apparently didn't enter the recipe. I can check one other location and see if it is there. The reason I mention that is that it sounds similar to the Mtn. Dew recipe.
von219
Posted: Sep/12/2006 4:27 AM PST

Here is the site where I found the recipe....there were several sites with the same recipe but this one gave some Reviews of it.

http://www.recipezaar.com/recipe/reviews.php?ri d=52213
von219
Posted: Sep/12/2006 4:31 AM PST

Here is one with a photo of it......maybe this is where I got the recipe....who knows....lol.