Page 1 of 2[12 Last

flower sabotage - Sunflower head cut off

Most Active Topic:
Most Recent Topic:
Member Message
sunflowerGirl
Posted: Aug/12/2006 7:25 PM PST

Electric fence or a security camera might catch the culprit, but what do I do with what they left me? I am new in my neighborhood and we have no fence up, so someone (bored child?) cut off my tallest sunflower head before it was even ready to bloom! I have never had this happen in years past. My question is this - is it possible that my sunflower stalk can grow a new bloom? It is a Mammoth sunflower. Should I just cut the whole thing down to let the sunlight to the other ones better?
tracymorris
Posted: Aug/12/2006 8:57 PM PST

I don't know if there are different types of big sunflower but, the little boy next door grew one and it bloomed and now that the flower is dying there are 3 new shoots/flowers forming down the main stem a bit. The same thing happened on my miniture one too.
Too bad you got a horrid little toad in your neighbourhood. Some kids just arn't brought up to respect other peoples property.
sashweezy
Posted: Aug/12/2006 9:27 PM PST

Sunflower girl, what zone are you in? State your location and you may get better assistance. In my area, it would be too late as I am in zone 4, Canada. If the head is ripe, here, the squirrels come in, cut it off, and cart it away.
vegemm photos
Posted: Aug/13/2006 12:57 AM PST

Different sunflowers will re-bloom...but not the Mammoth that I have ever seen...you can always take the wait and see method though...one never knows in a garden...
sunflowerGirl
Posted: Aug/16/2006 1:41 AM PST

I'm going to do the wait & see method. This sunflower, stalk, is about a foot taller than the rest of the crop & I just don't want to lose the height. I got some other blooms just starting today - I planted late, but I can get away with it here in Florida. Thanks again. If I get anything out of it, I'll let you all know.
BlueBelle
Posted: Aug/16/2006 3:51 PM PST