Getting Rid of Mint

Most Active Topic:
Member Message
wan2hav blog photos
Posted: Nov/05/2006 10:52 AM PST

wow !!!

I have mint..cat nip..and spearmint..but lucky for me I planted it in pots so it never got away...funny thing is I didn't know that it would grow so crazily !!

Ya learn something new every day.................................

Now BAMBOO--that I KNOW ABOUT !!
pantz
Posted: Nov/07/2006 2:29 AM PST

I know this is a long shot but mint flea beetle will have a good go at killing mint. The adults eat through the leaves while its larvae will eat into the roots of the plant. Only problem is finding the little critters.
Kale
Posted: Dec/03/2006 10:07 PM PST

Quote:
Originally posted by Highlander
I am new to gardening -- but my problem is not growing something -- it is getting rid of mint. When we bought this home (Highlands, N.C), MINT was growing on the side of an embankment -- we have tried a lot of things -- hand pulling it, cutting it before the winter sets in, and even Round up -- we cannot get rid of it. The mint continues to try to choke out the mountain laurel, hydrangeas and dogwood tree -- I seem to spend all my time trying to keep it from advancing -- What can I do? If there is a non-toxic solution, I would appreciate knowing that -- if not I am desparate enough to use pesticides. Thank you Highlander
JUMP ON YOUR SHOVEL TILL YOU CANT ANY LONGER THEN GO WARM UP (IF YOU ARE IN A COLD ZONE) THEN GO OUT AGAIN AND JUMP CONTINUE TO WARM UP WITH SOME TEA AND REPEAT TILL IT IS GONE!!

PUT SOME IN LARGE POTS AND GIVE AWY THE REST WITH A WARNING!

It is a pretty plant and does keep pest from others so it isnt a really a throw away plant.

Have fun!

Kale
RKayne blog photos
Posted: Dec/04/2006 10:56 PM PST