Page 1 of 3[123 Last

Getting Rid of Mint

Most Active Topic:
Member Message
Highlander
Posted: Jul/31/2006 4:44 PM PST

I am new to gardening -- but my problem is not growing something -- it is getting rid of mint. When we bought this home (Highlands, N.C), MINT was growing on the side of an embankment -- we have tried a lot of things -- hand pulling it, cutting it before the winter sets in, and even Round up -- we cannot get rid of it. The mint continues to try to choke out the mountain laurel, hydrangeas and dogwood tree -- I seem to spend all my time trying to keep it from advancing -- What can I do? If there is a non-toxic solution, I would appreciate knowing that -- if not I am desparate enough to use pesticides. Thank you Highlander
fozbot3 blog photos
Posted: Jul/31/2006 7:14 PM PST

here's what one gardener had to say about this:
[QUOTE]I'm afraid mint doesn't blow in, it ain't a dandelion. the underground runners from a neighbor perhaps, made a beeline for your tree. it is hard, if not impossible to eradicate. best thing todo is wait til after a really soaking rain, very, i mean very gently try and pull the main plant out of the ground. you don't want to break off the underground runners, because they will then be stimulated into putting out leaves , and more runners. follow the runners from the main plant and try to ease them out of the soil, they are normally quite close to the surface. it's a big task, every piece you leave brhind is a potential plant. face it, mint is eternal. you can keep cutting back the plants that do pop up, and eventually(?) you'll starve them, perhaps your children or grandchildren will take over ,afteryou've gone. if you do succeed, do as the previous writer suggested and plant it in a pot, WAY above ground. i never plant mint, my neighbors are only too happy to have anyone come by and cut what they want. food for thought, as it were. good luck. you can ultimately blame the Greek gods for your predicament.[/quote]