Bookmark and Share

Page 1 of 10[123 Last

pickling jalapeno peppers..how

Most Active Topic:
Most Recent Topic:
Member Message
melinda9723
Posted: Jun/27/2006 5:46 PM PST

I am new to canning/ pickling things and I was wondering if someone would please tell me how to pickle peppers. I was thinking more down the lines of the jalapeno peppers you buy at the store in a can but have recently learned that they go through some kind of process.
I have 2 jalapeno plants and this morning I sliced them up and put them in some 5% white distilled vinegar. Is this the right way? Do I need to add anything else to it ? Thanks for any and all help.
RandyCobb
Posted: Jun/27/2006 7:33 PM PST

Melinda, if you keep them in the refrigerator, that will probably be fine. But I will be back here this evening and I will look in my literature and see what it says. I responded to another thread here re banana peppers and I need to get back on that one also.
sashweezy
Posted: Jun/27/2006 8:16 PM PST

Melinda you couldn't have a better teacher than Randy when it comes to pickling. All I would add is use gloves when handling them. I buy the surgical gloves at the drug store to use for pickling peppers.
melinda9723
Posted: Jun/27/2006 8:22 PM PST

thanks for the replies. I am so happy someone responede to my post. I just went out and bought some canning supplies. I will eventually get a pressure cooker but for right now I have the bascis, I think. I grew my own jalapenos and for some reason they are not hot so I will keep the glove tip in mind. Hopefully, my next batch will be hot. I will check back later to see what Randy recommends. I hope he read this since I couldn't help but go out and buy some canning supplies,lol
RandyCobb
Posted: Jun/28/2006 2:47 AM PST