Bookmark and Share

Page 1 of 2[12 Last

How to mulch roses for winter

Most Active Topic:
Most Recent Topic:
Member Message
karslinky blog photos
Posted: Sep/29/2005 6:46 PM PST

I am very new at roses and bought two this year (one at 70% off - $3.98!). The other one is a Barbra Streisand - absolutely gorgeous and the best smellin' rose I've ever grown! (see above ). I want them to make it through an upstate NY winter, so I want to mulch it properly. I have a leaf vacuum/mulcher but have read that if leaves are used to make sure they are composted, and I probably won't have time to compost. What do people use for mulching? Can I place a used plastic pot (the kind you buy large plants in from the nursery?) around the base and fill that with mulch? Thanks ahead of time...
BlueBelle
Posted: Sep/29/2005 8:46 PM PST

Quote:
Originally posted by karslinky
I am very new at roses and bought two this year (one at 70% off - $3.98!). The other one is a Barbra Streisand - absolutely gorgeous and the best smellin' rose I've ever grown! (see above ). I want them to make it through an upstate NY winter, so I want to mulch it properly. I have a leaf vacuum/mulcher but have read that if leaves are used to make sure they are composted, and I probably won't have time to compost. What do people use for mulching? Can I place a used plastic pot (the kind you buy large plants in from the nursery?) around the base and fill that with mulch? Thanks ahead of time...

I'm waiting for this info too. I was thinking of mounding my new rose with earth, but don't know whether it needs more than that. It's in the front yard, so I'd rather now have to put one of those ugly styrofoam cones around it.
Whitmore1
Posted: Oct/01/2005 7:47 AM PST